Whales Whales


All about Whales

Whales are mammals in the order Cetacea, and are grouped into two suborders: whales with teeth and a single blowhole (Odontocetes) and whales with baleen and two blowholes (Mysticetes).  Toothed whales include dolphins, porpoises, belugas, narwhals, sperm whales, river dolphins, and beaked whales. Baleen whales include right whales, gray whales, blue whales, and humpback whales.  Did you know during the feeding season, a blue whale can eat up to 8,000 lbs of krill each day?

Learn more about whales, including where they live, what they eat, and how we can help continue the conservation of these incredible animals.

Whale Resources

Gray whale

Animal InfoBooks: Baleen Whales

Meet the largest animals on Earth! From their mouths full of baleen to their enormous sizes, learn the facts about these impressive Mystecetes.

Baleen Whales InfoBook


Animal InfoBooks: Beluga Whales

Discover how the vocal, social beluga whale survives in the cold arctic environment.

BelugaWhales InfoBook

A pod of killer whales swims

Animal InfoBooks: Killer Whales

Explore the intriguing information about one of the ocean's most famous species — killer whales.

Killer Whales InfoBook

Blue Whale

Animal Bytes

Check out these one-page fact sheets about these incredible mammals.

Whale Overview

Beluga Whale

Blue Whale

Gray Whale

Killer Whale


Short-Finned Pilot Whale

Sperm Whale


Animal Sounds

Whales make many different sounds to navigate, communicate, and hunt. Check out these sounds, plus more on SeaWorld.org.

Beluga Whales

Killer Whales

More Animal Sounds